Blowing November in the Air

Thomas Hood – November (1844)

No sun–no moon!
No morn–no noon!
No dawn–no dusk–no proper time of day–
No sky–no earthly view–
No distance looking blue–

No road–no street–
No “t’other side the way”–
No end to any Row–
No indications where the Crescents go–

No top to any steeple–
No recognitions of familiar people–
No courtesies for showing ‘em–
No knowing ‘em!

No mail–no post–
No news from any foreign coast–
No park–no ring–no afternoon gentility–
No company–no nobility–

No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,
No comfortable feel in any member–
No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,
No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds,
November!

Source:

http://www.scrapbook.com/poems/doc/82.html

Sandy Denny – Late November (1971)

Video:

Lyrics:

The wine it was drunk, the ship it was sunk
The shot it was dead, all the sorrows were drowned
The birds they were clouds, the brides and the shrouds
And as we drew south the mist it came down

The wooded ravine to the wandering stream
The serpent he moved, but no-one would say
The depths of the waters, the bridge which distraught us
And brought to me thoughts of the ill-fated day

The temples were filled with the strangest of creatures
One played it by ear on the banks of the sea
That one was found but the others they went under
Oh the tears which are shed, they won’t come from me

The methods of madness, the pathos and the sadness
God help you all, the insane and wise
The black and the white, the darkness of the night
I see only smoke from the chimneys arise

The pilot he flew all across the sky and woke me
He flew solo on the mercury sea
The dream it came back, all about the tall brown people
The sacred young herd on the phosphorus sand

Source:

http://www.metrolyrics.com/late-november-lyrics-sandy-denny.html

Guns N’Roses – November Rain (1992)

Video:

Video:

Video:

Lyrics:

When I look into your eyes
I can see a love restrained
But darlin’ when I hold you
Don’t you know I feel the same

‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever
And we both know hearts can change
And it’s hard to hold a candle
In the cold November rain

We’ve been through this such a long long time
Just tryin’ to kill the pain

But lovers always come and lovers always go
An no one’s really sure who’s lettin’ go today
Walking away

If we could take the time
to lay it on the line
I could rest my head
Just knowin’ that you were mine
All mine
So if you want to love me
then darlin’ don’t refrain
Or I’ll just end up walkin’
In the cold November rain

Do you need some time…on your own
Do you need some time…all alone
Everybody needs some time… on their own
Don’t you know you need some time…all alone

I know it’s hard to keep an open heart
When even friends seem out to harm you
But if you could heal a broken heart
Wouldn’t time be out to charm you

Sometimes I need some time…on my own
Sometimes I need some time…all alone
Everybody needs some time… on their own
Don’t you know you need some time…all alone

And when your fears subside
And shadows still remain
I know that you can love me
When there’s no one left to blame
So never mind the darkness
We still can find a way
‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever
Even cold November rain

Don’t ya think that you need somebody
Don’t ya think that you need someone
Everybody needs somebody
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one

Source:

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/gunsnroses/novemberrain.html

Morrissey – November Spawned A Monster (1993)

Video:

Lyrics:

Sleep on and dream of Love
because it’s the closest you will get to love
poor twisted child, so ugly, so ugly
poor twisted child, oh hug me, oh hug me
one November spawned a monster
in the shape of this child who later cried
“But Jesus made me, so Jesus save me from
pity, sympathy and people discussing me”
a frame of useless limbs what can make GOOD
all the BAD that’s been done?
And if the lights were out
could you even bear
to kiss her full on the mouth (or anywhere?)
poor twisted child, so ugly, so ugly
poor twisted child, oh hug me, oh hug me
one November spawned a monster
in the shape of this child who must remain
a hostage to kindess and the wheels underneath her
a hostage to kindess and the wheels underneath her
a symbol of where mad, mad lovers
must PAUSE and draw the line
So sleep and dream of love
because it’s the closest
you will get to love
that November is a time which I must put OUT of my mind
oh one fine day
LET IT BE SOON
she won’t be rich or beautiful
but she’ll be walking your streets
in the clothes that she went out
and chose for herself

Source:

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/morrissey/novemberspawnedamonster.html

Tom Waits – November (1993)

Video:

Video:

Lyrics:

No shadow
No stars
No moon
No cars
November
It only believes
In a pile of dead leaves
And a moon
That’s the color of bone

No prayers for November
To linger longer
Stick your spoon in the wall
We’ll slaughter them all

November has tied me
To an old dead tree
Get word to April
To rescue me

November’s cold chain
Made of wet boots and rain
And shiny black ravens
On chimney smoke lanes
November seems odd
You’re my firing squad
November

With my hair slicked back
With carrion shellac
With the blood from a pheasant
And the bone from a hare

Tied to the branches
Of a roebuck stag
Left to wave in the timber
Like a buck shot flag

Go away you rainsnout
Go away, blow your brains out
November

Source:

http://www.metrolyrics.com/november-lyrics-tom-waits.html

Wyclef Jean – Gone Till November (1997)

Video:

Video:

Video:

Lyrics:

I dedicate this record the carnival to all you brothers takin long trips
down south, virginia, balitmore all round the world and your girl gets
this message that you ain’t commin’ back, she sittin back in her room, da
lights is off, she’s cryin, and then my voice comes in (pow) and this is
what i tell her for you

CHORUS

every time i make a run, girl you turn around and cry, i ask myself why
oh why, see you must understand i can’t work a 9 to 5, so ill be gone til
november, said ill be gone till november ill be gone till november, you
tell my girl yo i be gone till november, ill be gone till november ill
be gone til november, you tell my girl yo ill be gone till november,
january, february, march, april, may, i see you cryin but girl i can’t
stay ill be gone till november, ill be gone till november… and give a
kiss to my motha..

when i come back there be no time to clock, ill have enough money to buy
out the glocks, tell my brotha go to school in september so he won’t mess
up in summer school in da summer, tell my cousin jerry wear his condom
if you don’t wear condom you see a red line oh oo oo you sucka M.C.s you
got no flow i heard ya style you so so

CHORUS

I had to flick nothin and turn it in to somethin, hip hop turns to the
future of rock when i smash a pumpkin (bing) committ treason now i have
a reason to hunt you down its only right its rappers season, yea you
with the loud voice posin like your top choice, i make a hertz out of
ya rolls royce, besides i got my girl to remember and i committed that
ill be back in november.

Source:

http://www.metrolyrics.com/gone-till-november-lyrics-wyclef-jean.html

The National – Mr. November (2005)

Video:

Video – Lyrics:

Azure Ray – November (2007)

Video:

Video:

Video – Lyrics:

Responder

